Writer Mama by Christina Katz

On this day in 1875, Edgar Rice Burroughs, creator of the popular character Tarzan, was born in Chicago, Illinois.

Writer Mama: How to Raise a Writing Career Alongside Your Kids, by Christina Katz, is the book I’ve chosen to review this week.

backtoschoolKatz also has a fantastic Writer Mama blog. During in the month of September she is giving away a book each day. So, pop on over and sign up.

Back to Katz’s  book. I won a copy of Writer Mama book over on Cathy C. Hall’s blog a while back, and I’m so happy that I did. (Thank you, Cathy!) 

Katz’s book is chock-full of writing advice and encouragement for writing moms–and grandmoms like me. In the Pep Talk section, Katz lists 10 reasons for mamas to launch their writing career. The one that appeals to me is #5: “Mamas who write set a good example for their kids.” I’m sure this applies to Grandmas as well!

The book is divided into four sections, with exercises and sidebars  with highlights included in each section:

Preparation covers the tools and attributes writers mama need. 

Practice shows how to build basic writing skills to compete with professionals.

Professionalism covers querys and interviews and includes a glossary of query terms.

Poise offers suggestions for developing skills to get your name known and how to pitch.

Even if you not a Mama, Katz’s practical advice, exercises and resources can help your writing career.  And don’t forget to visit the Writer Mama blog during the month of September. You might get lucky and win a book on writing!  Donna Volkenannt 

7 Comments

Filed under Non-Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing Advice

7 responses to “Writer Mama by Christina Katz

  1. Hey Donna, Thanks for the review and for buzzing the Writer Mama Back-to-School Givewaway. Hope to see you over there. 🙂

  2. Hi Christina,
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I will definitely visit your blog and the Writer Mama Back-to-School Giveaway.
    Donna

  3. Hey Donna!

    Hadn’t had a chance to get over here yet, but you know, I was Googling my name, and what can I say? I had to come see what was going on 🙂

    LOVE The Writer Mama (the book and Christina Katz) ! And I know you’re a wonderful example for those grands of yours-and for us big kid writers, too.

    And now the question of the day…Blogger or WordPress? 🙂

  4. Hi Cathy,
    Is the question of the day on the Writer Mama blog: Blogger or WordPress? If so, I need to check it out.
    Donna

  5. Laura

    Hi Donna. I was inspired by your posting today on Writer Mama’s blog, so wanted to pop over and tell you. Thank you!

  6. Hi Laura,
    Thanks for your kind words. Christina has had an awesome month over on her Writer Mama’s blog.
    Donna

  7. hello!,I love your writing very a lot! share we keep up a correspondence extra approximately your article on AOL?
    I need an expert in this area to unravel
    my problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.

Leave a Reply

