Mysteries of the Ozarks (Volume III)

High Hill Press has recently published Mysteries of the Ozarks (Volume III), a collection of twenty-six stories “dedicated to those who have strong ties to the Ozarks and those who love reading abou this beautiful land.”

The anthology is edited by Ellen Gray Massey. Contributors include: Velda Brotherton, Jory Sherman, Radine Trees Nehring, Betty Craker Henderson, Jane Hale, Carolyn Gray Thornton, Larry Woods, Bari Bumgarner, and several others.

While I haven’t read all the stories in the anthology, the ones I’ve read have been great.

How can you not be swept away with stories such as “The Mystery of Cedar Shade” by Jory Sherman, “The Missing Skull” by Velda Brotherton, or “Catfish Jack” by Roberta Vaughan Schwinke. 

The story of “Catfish Jack” is based on an Osage County legend, memorialized by the poem: “Catfish Jack lived in a shack, left one day and never came back.”

If you’re looking for a collection of stories that capture the essence of the Ozarks region of southern Missouri and northern Arkansas, with its scenic hills where the Osage Indians once roamed, check out Mysteries of the Ozarks  (Volume III).

5 Comments

Filed under Anthology, Fiction, Mystery, Southern Fiction

5 responses to “Mysteries of the Ozarks (Volume III)

  1. Thank you, Donna, for the nice review. Please note, however, that Betty Craker Henderson (and Donna, I KNOW it was a typo) my name is NOT Cracker! Hope readers like my story also!

  2. Thank you, Donna, for the nice review. Please note, however, that my name is Betty Craker Henderson (and Donna, I KNOW it was a typo). My name is NOT Cracker! Hope readers like my story also!

  3. donnamariev

    Hi Betty,
    You are welcome, and you are right. It was a typo which has been fixed, and your story is great!
    So sorry.
    Donna

  4. Hey, Betty and Donna, I got CRACKER in my website name. (-:
    Donna, what a nice book review of our third volumn of “Mysteries Of The Ozarks”. My story is entitled “The Wish” and my son, Mitch’s story “Checkmate.” Hope you like them.
    If you enjoy this book you may want to get a copy of Vol I and Vol II. And, Vol IV will be out in the fall with a story by me, my son, and Donna. Congrats! Donna.

  5. donnamariev

    Hi Jane,
    I’m working on my submission for Vol IV now.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

